New Zunes, New Software, and the Book

November 27, 2007 at 4:36 pm 5 comments

Since the publication of the book, Microsoft has unveiled two new Zunes and a totally overhauled version of the Zune software. Although very much of the material in the book is still accurate and applicable, the Zune software screenshots are obviously out of date. Same goes for certain chapters, like the one on podcasts (Zune Marketplace now lets you subscribe to them directly). Will there be an updated edition of the book? I’m discussing that with the publisher at this very moment. In the meantime, I highly recommend heading to ClicZune, Zunerama, and Zune Thoughts for loads of updated Zune news and information.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Got My Copies!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dan  |  April 13, 2008 at 12:46 am

    I am not pleased with the new and supposedly improved Zune software. Call me old fashioned, but I wish I could return to the previous version. Is that possible?

  • 2. Rick  |  April 20, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Unfortunately, there’s no way that I know of to revert to the previous version. Can I ask what you don’t like about it?

  • 3. Alberto  |  May 28, 2008 at 3:10 am

    On page 147 of your book you mention the Zune Options Menu. Where is it? How do you get to it? I have not been able to get the window of Figure 5-2 on page 148. What am I missing?

  • 4. Rachel  |  September 26, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Help! Just got a new Vista computer, and just found my Zune. Inserting the Zune software disc into computer updated me to 3.0. I want to copy the music and books from my Zune to my new computer, but I can’t follow the information in your “Copy files from your Zune to your computer” (pp. 282-283). The new screen looks nothing like the one in the book. (I’m a visual learner).

    If I can’t do that, Is there a way to copy my files from my old computer (in the old Zune software format) to my new one without using the Zune device? Thanks!

  • 5. Cheryl  |  January 7, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I originally synced my Zune with our desktop PC. It crashed a few weeks ago and now I want to sync it permanently with my laptop. How do I do that and make the Zune store all my music onto the laptop?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

